Art Playlist Storyboard

OK, let us see if this translates… I suggested to a fellow artist that I could create a playlist of music to aid my art inspiration and incorporate each song, to improve my personal art pieces.

Are you still with me?

Basically, using associations with the current song playing to create a story. In my case, Mariah Carey – “Honey” is currently playing. For this part of the piece, I can use such things like the year it was released, the word “Honey” or even parts of the music video to help. Maybe the easiest thing to do would be to use a part of the lyrics to create a story.

However, before that, Childish Gambino – “Melrose” was playing. This currently has no music video so songs like this either leave more room to be much more imaginative and interpret what you want of it or, they may lack in assistance if it is heavily depended upon at the time.

When I am working with a client, they will give me something to follow so it is quite simple to demonstrate drafts of what they have requested and develop into a final design. But for myself, it was becoming increasingly hard to sit and focus on personal projects.

So now, if I have say 10 songs in a playlist that will be 10 x 10 x 10 x (you get the idea) of how many different stories I can create in an overarching storytelling scheme.

This kind of work also ties into the 2nd art book I will be creating and I will post about the first one next week – keep an eye out for that, where I go through the process of creation to print.

Leave A Comment?

